Lunar Exploration Analysis Group (LEAG)

List of Lunar white papers being prepared as input for the Planetary Science Division Decadal Survery process. Contact the lead author to get involved.

Title Lead Author(s) E-mail
Why the Moon is Important for Solar System Science Clive Neal neal.1@nd.edu
The Lunar Exploration Roadmap: Exploring the Moon in the 21st Century: Themes, Goals, Objectives, Investigations, and Priorities, 2009 Clive Neal neal.1@nd.edu
Exploring the Bombardment History of the Moon Bill Botke bottke@boulder.swri.edu
Constraining Solar System impact history and evolution of the terrestrial planets with exploration of and samples from the Moon's South Pole-Aitken Basin Noah Petro
Brad Jolliff

Noah.E.Petro@mail.nasa.gov
blj@levee.wustl.edu

Science from the Moon: The NASA/NLSI Lunar University Network for Astrophysics Research (LUNAR) Jack Burns Jack.Burns@cu.edu
Lunar polar volatiles and associated processes Dana Hurly
David Lawrence
Dana.Hurley@jhuapl.edu David.J.Lawrence@jhuapl.edu
The Lunar Dusty Exosphere: The Extreme Case of an Inner Planetary Atmosphere Bill Farrell
Mihaly Horanyi
william.m.farrell@nasa.gov
horanyi@colorado.edu
Ensuring United States Competitiveness in the 21st Century Global Economy with a Long-Term Lunar Exploration Program Carle Pieters
Ian Garrick-Bethell
Mike Wyatt
Carle_Pieters@brown.edu Ian_Garrick-Bethell@brown.edu Michael_Wyatt@brown.edu
Sample Return from the Earth’s Moon Allan Treiman
Clive Neal
Chip Shearer
treiman@lpi.usra.edu neal.1@nd.edu cshearer@unm.edu
The Rationale for Deployment of a Long-Lived Geophysical Network on the Moon Clive Neal neal.1@nd.edu
Lunar Helium-3 Fusion Resource Distribution Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Geopolitical Context of Lunar Exploration and Settlement Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Lunar Field Geological Exploration Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Astrobiology Research Priorities for Mercury, Venus, and the Moon Ariel D. Anbar anbar@asu.edu
Unexplored Areas of the Moon: Nonmare Domes Sarah Braden sebraden@asu.edu
Sampling the Extremes of Lunar Volcanism: The Youngest and Oldest Lunar Basalts Sam Lawrence samuel.lawrence@asu.edu
The Lunar Swirls Georgiana Kramer gkramer@bearfightcenter.com
The Moon as a Test Body for General Relativity Stephen M. Merkowitz Stephen.M.Merkowitz@nasa.gov
Determining the Origins of Lunar Remanent Crustal Magnetism Jasper Halekas jasper.halekas@gmail.com
Proposal for a Lunar Exploration/Science Campaign: A commercially-leveraged, science-focused, lunar exploration program Robert M. Kelso robert.m.kelso@nasa.gov
The Scientific Rationale for Renewed Human Exploration of the Moon Ian Crawford i.crawford@ucl.ac.uk
Indicative Basic Issues About Lunar Dust in the Lunar Environment Brian J. O'Brien brianjobrien@ozemail.com.au
Developing Sample Return Technology using the Earth's Moon as a Testing Ground Clive R. Neal
Chip Shearer
neal.1@nd.edu
cshearer@unm.edu
Lunar and Martian Lava Tube Exploration as part of an Overall Scientific Survey Andrew Daga andrew.daga@verizon.net
Lunar Science with ARTEMIS – A Journey from The Moon’s Exosphere to its Core Krishan Khurana kkhurana@igpp.ucla.edu
Summary and Highlights of the NRC 2007 Report: The Scientific Context for the Exploration of the Moon (SCEM) Carle Pieters
Stefanie Tompkins
Carle_Pieters@brown.edu stefanie.tompkins@darpa.mil
Lunar Light -Planetary Renewal- A Holistic Viewpoint Amalie Sinclair anadem@yahoo.com
Lunar Science and Lunar Laser Ranging Jim Williams james.g.williams@jpl.nasa.gov
Solar Radiation Output: Reading the Record of Lunar Rocks Tore Straume tstraume@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Global Distributions of Gas & Dust in the Lunar Atmosphere from Solar Infrared Absorption Measurements with a Fourier Transform Spectrometer Mian Abbas Mian.m.abbas@nasa.gov
Importance of Measurements of Changing Properties of Individual Submicron Size Lunar Dust Grains Mian Abbas Mian.m.abbas@nasa.gov
Electromagnetic Sounding of Solid Planets and Satellites Robert Grimm grimm@boulder.swri.edu
Extralunar Materials in Lunar Regolith Marc Fries  
Lunar Occultation Observer (LOCO) Richard S. Miller Richard.S.Miller@uah.edu
On Lunar Volatiles and Their Importance to Resource Utilization and Lunar Science Arlin Crotts arlin@astro.columbia.edu
Observations Necessary for Useful Global Climate Models Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Lunar Pyroclastic Depostis and the Origin of the Moon Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu

Development of Capabilities and Instrumentation for Curation and Analysis of Returned Samples

Andrew M. Davis a-davis@uchicago.edu
Lunar Fluids from Carbon and Chlorine Contents of the Apollo Lunar Samples Yas Miura yasmiura@yamaguchi-u.ac.jp
The Chemical Reactivity of Lunar Dust Relevant to Human Exploration David J. Loftus  

 

NASA footer
View the NASA Portal NASA FirstGov