Lunar and Planetary Institute

LPI Earth and Space Science Newsletter

To receive this information as a monthly e-mail, please sign up here.


Excellence in Science Teaching Awards in Texas
Nominations are now being accepted for Outstanding Science Teacher for the 2016 TMA Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching, sponsored by the Texas Medical Association. Three Texas science teachers will receive $5,000 each, and their schools will receive a $2,000 award. Three additional science departments will receive $1,000 each for our second-place winners. Nominations for this award will be accepted through October 26, 2015.

NSTA Awards and Recognition Program
The NSTA Awards and Recognition were created to raise awareness and exposure of the outstanding work being done in the science education field. All entries must be received by 11:59 PM EST on 11/30/2015, via online submission with the exception of the Shell Science Teaching Award whose deadline is 11/18/2015.

Voya Unsung Heroes Awards Program
Each year, 100 educators are selected to receive $2,000 to help fund their innovative class projects. Three of those are chosen to receive the top awards of an additional $5,000, $10,000 and $25,000. Apply by April 30, 2016.

NCTM Invites Applications for 2015 Middle School Student Engagement Grants
Grants of up to $3,000 will be awarded to persons currently teaching math in grades 6-8 to support the incorporation of materials or lessons which actively engage students in tasks and experiences that deepen their content knowledge. Deadline is November 6, 2015.

Lowe's Toolbox for Education K-12 Public School Improvement Projects
Lowe's Toolbox for Education program provides grant awards of up to $5,000 to support school improvement projects at K-12 public schools in the United States. Priority is given basic necessities, with a preference for funding requests that have a permanent impact. Projects that encourage parent involvement and help build stronger community spirit are encouraged. Application deadline: October 16, 2015.