List of Lunar white papers being prepared as input for the Planetary Science Division Decadal Survery process. Contact the lead author to get involved.

Title Lead Author(s) E-mail
Why the Moon is Important for Solar System Science Clive Neal neal.1@nd.edu
The Lunar Exploration Roadmap: Exploring the Moon in the 21st Century: Themes, Goals, Objectives, Investigations, and Priorities, 2009 Clive Neal neal.1@nd.edu
Exploring the Bombardment History of the Moon Bill Botke bottke@boulder.swri.edu
Constraining Solar System impact history and evolution of the terrestrial planets with exploration of and samples from the Moon's South Pole-Aitken Basin Noah Petro
Brad Jolliff

Noah.E.Petro@mail.nasa.gov
blj@levee.wustl.edu

Science from the Moon: The NASA/NLSI Lunar University Network for Astrophysics Research (LUNAR) Jack Burns Jack.Burns@cu.edu
Lunar polar volatiles and associated processes Dana Hurly
David Lawrence
Dana.Hurley@jhuapl.edu David.J.Lawrence@jhuapl.edu
The Lunar Dusty Exosphere: The Extreme Case of an Inner Planetary Atmosphere Bill Farrell
Mihaly Horanyi
william.m.farrell@nasa.gov
horanyi@colorado.edu
Ensuring United States Competitiveness in the 21st Century Global Economy with a Long-Term Lunar Exploration Program Carle Pieters
Ian Garrick-Bethell
Mike Wyatt
Carle_Pieters@brown.edu Ian_Garrick-Bethell@brown.edu Michael_Wyatt@brown.edu
Sample Return from the Earth’s Moon Allan Treiman
Clive Neal
Chip Shearer
treiman@lpi.usra.edu neal.1@nd.edu cshearer@unm.edu
The Rationale for Deployment of a Long-Lived Geophysical Network on the Moon Clive Neal neal.1@nd.edu
Lunar Helium-3 Fusion Resource Distribution Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Geopolitical Context of Lunar Exploration and Settlement Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Lunar Field Geological Exploration Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Astrobiology Research Priorities for Mercury, Venus, and the Moon Ariel D. Anbar anbar@asu.edu
Unexplored Areas of the Moon: Nonmare Domes Sarah Braden sebraden@asu.edu
Sampling the Extremes of Lunar Volcanism: The Youngest and Oldest Lunar Basalts Sam Lawrence samuel.lawrence@asu.edu
The Lunar Swirls Georgiana Kramer gkramer@bearfightcenter.com
The Moon as a Test Body for General Relativity Stephen M. Merkowitz Stephen.M.Merkowitz@nasa.gov
Determining the Origins of Lunar Remanent Crustal Magnetism Jasper Halekas jasper.halekas@gmail.com
Proposal for a Lunar Exploration/Science Campaign: A commercially-leveraged, science-focused, lunar exploration program Robert M. Kelso robert.m.kelso@nasa.gov
The Scientific Rationale for Renewed Human Exploration of the Moon Ian Crawford i.crawford@ucl.ac.uk
Indicative Basic Issues About Lunar Dust in the Lunar Environment Brian J. O'Brien brianjobrien@ozemail.com.au
Developing Sample Return Technology using the Earth's Moon as a Testing Ground Clive R. Neal
Chip Shearer
neal.1@nd.edu
cshearer@unm.edu
Lunar and Martian Lava Tube Exploration as part of an Overall Scientific Survey Andrew Daga andrew.daga@verizon.net
Lunar Science with ARTEMIS – A Journey from The Moon’s Exosphere to its Core Krishan Khurana kkhurana@igpp.ucla.edu
Summary and Highlights of the NRC 2007 Report: The Scientific Context for the Exploration of the Moon (SCEM) Carle Pieters
Stefanie Tompkins
Carle_Pieters@brown.edu stefanie.tompkins@darpa.mil
Lunar Light -Planetary Renewal- A Holistic Viewpoint Amalie Sinclair anadem@yahoo.com
Lunar Science and Lunar Laser Ranging Jim Williams james.g.williams@jpl.nasa.gov
Solar Radiation Output: Reading the Record of Lunar Rocks Tore Straume tstraume@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Global Distributions of Gas & Dust in the Lunar Atmosphere from Solar Infrared Absorption Measurements with a Fourier Transform Spectrometer Mian Abbas Mian.m.abbas@nasa.gov
Importance of Measurements of Changing Properties of Individual Submicron Size Lunar Dust Grains Mian Abbas Mian.m.abbas@nasa.gov
Electromagnetic Sounding of Solid Planets and Satellites Robert Grimm grimm@boulder.swri.edu
Extralunar Materials in Lunar Regolith Marc Fries  
Lunar Occultation Observer (LOCO) Richard S. Miller Richard.S.Miller@uah.edu
On Lunar Volatiles and Their Importance to Resource Utilization and Lunar Science Arlin Crotts arlin@astro.columbia.edu
Observations Necessary for Useful Global Climate Models Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Lunar Pyroclastic Depostis and the Origin of the Moon Harrison H. Schmitt schmitt@engr.wisc.edu
Development of Capabilities and Instrumentation for Curation and Analysis of Returned Samples Andrew M. Davis a-davis@uchicago.edu
Lunar Fluids from Carbon and Chlorine Contents of the Apollo Lunar Samples Yas Miura yasmiura@yamaguchi-u.ac.jp
The Chemical Reactivity of Lunar Dust Relevant to Human Exploration David J. Loftus