LPI Announces Career Development Award Winners

February 18, 2016

CDA logo

The Lunar and Planetary Institute (LPI) is proud to announce the winners of the ninth LPI Career Development Award. The award is given to graduate students who submitted a first-author abstract to the 47th Lunar and Planetary Science Conference (LPSC). The awards are based on a review of the application materials by a panel of planetary scientists, and recipients will receive funds to help cover their expenses for attending the conference.

The 47th LPSC will be held at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center in The Woodlands, Texas. Approximately 2000 participants from all over the world are expected to gather for the annual meeting, which has gained the reputation of being the premiere gathering place for lunar and planetary scientists. The meeting provides an invaluable opportunity for students, not only to present their own research, but also to hear and see firsthand the latest-breaking results from other researchers in their field. Opportunities are also provided for students to meet and network with an international group of distinguished researchers.

Congratulations to the 2016 recipients:  

Chrysa Avdellidou
University of Kent, Canterbury

Thomas James Barrett
Open University, Milton Keynes

Ernest Bell
University of Maryland, Gaithersburg

Laura Corley
University of Hawaii, Honolulu

Matthew Cross
University of Western Ontario, London

Karanam Durga Prasad
Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad


Gavin Kenny
Trinity College, Dublin

Levke Kööp
University of Chicago

Marie McBride
Purdue University, Lafayette

Kathleen Scanlon
Brown University, Providence

Sarah Sutton
Lunar and Planetary Laboratory, Tucson

Jason Williams
Southern Illinois University, Carbondale


Community News home page

Last updated February 18, 2016