The Road to Mission Science: Seminars for Students and Early Career Researchers

June 17, 2022

The Road to Mission Science: Seminars for Students and Early Career Researchers

NASA is sending spacecraft to study objects throughout the solar system! With support from the ChemCam instrument team on the Mars Curiosity mission, the LPI is hosting informational webinars for students and early career researchers who have an interest in becoming involved in current or future planetary missions. Undergraduate and graduate students, postdocs, and early career scientists are invited to join us for a discussion of how to prepare, both academically and professionally, for a career in mission science. We will also share opportunities for getting involved!

Each virtual event features a panel of mentors and mission scientists who will share their backgrounds, experiences, and recommendations. As we strive to increase the awareness and accessibility of mission science careers, we will describe ongoing and upcoming missions, roles within missions, and ways that students can become involved. These seminars will also provide an opportunity for participants to ask questions and make connections with mission scientists.

The next event in this series will be a 90-minute virtual seminar on Tuesday, July 19, at 3 p.m. EDT / 2 p.m. CDT / 1 p.m. MDT / 12 p.m. PDT. The webinar will be recorded and available online on LPI’s YouTube channel.

Register      YouTube Livestream  

Check out the Resource Packet. It contains information about mission science, internships, fellowships, scholarships, awards, and more.

Click here to learn more about the previous seminar and find the recording. And come back in September for the final installment in this series!

Please contact Grace Beaudoin (gbeaudoin@lpi.usra.edu) with questions about this event.

Get the solar system in your inbox.

Sign up for LPI's email newsletters