Professional Development Webinar for Scientists: Managing Stress Fatigue

Professional Development Webinar for Scientists: Managing Stress Fatigue

From contractual responsibilities (managing multiple projects, experiments, budgets, deadlines, and personnel) to uncompensated obligations (reviewing for journals, sitting on grant panels, and mentoring), scientists often experience intense levels of professional stress, particularly in early-career stages. While work-related stress may be inevitable, accumulated stress can lead to “stress fatigue” and burnout. Not only are these experiences detrimental to an individual’s professional, psychological, and physical well-being, they have far-reaching, adverse consequences for the broader scientific community. So how can you address stress fatigue in yourself and others to restore engagement and cultivate success? In this 75-minute presentation, we’ll discuss stress fatigue – what it is, how it can happen, who is affected, and why it matters – and share practical and sustainable strategies for recognizing, preventing, and managing it.

Jennifer Bates
Jennifer Bates

Tune in on Thursday, January 5 beginning at 12:00 p.m. CT to hear from Jennifer Bates. Jennifer is the Broadening Participation Program Manager at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO). She is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with over 10 years of clinical experience. Prior to accepting her role with NRAO, she was the Director of Training & DEI at Region 10 Community Services Board. She is trained in EMDR, MI, CET, WRAP and DBT. She is also a certified trainer for the Community Resilience Initiative, Mental Health First Aid-Adult, Stress Health First Aid and Cognitive Enhancement Therapy. During her presentation, she will share research, recommendations, and strategies for addressing stress fatigue. After the presentation, there will be time for questions and discussion.

This event will be held online on Thursday, January 5 beginning at 12:00 pm CT (1:00 pm ET/ 11:00 am MT/ 10:00 am PT).

Zoom registration  

The presentation will be recorded and available on LPI’s YouTube channel.

Please contact Grace Beaudoin (gbeaudoin@lpi.usra.edu) with questions about this event.

Get the solar system in your inbox.

Sign up for LPI's email newsletters