CASA Moon Planetary Sample Science Seminar Series

January 30, 2024

The CASA Moon Seminar Series is an exciting and informative initiative hosted by the CASA Moon node of the NASA Solar System Exploration Research Virtual Institute (SSERVI). Designed to explore the latest advancements in lunar science and research, this seminar series brings together leading experts, scientists, and researchers to share their knowledge, insights, and groundbreaking discoveries related to the Moon.

The seminar series will be held on Wednesdays at 11:00 a.m. Mountain Time (10:00 a.m. Pacific, 12:00 p.m. Central, and 1:00 p.m. Eastern).

The seminar is a hybrid meeting consisting of a live presentation at UNM Northrop 340 and a virtual meeting using the following link:
https://nasaenterprise.webex.com/nasaenterprise/j.php?MTID=md775721329759905708fc2a1b97d82ef

Presentations will be recorded (with the permission of the speaker) and accessible through the CASA Moon website.

The seminar series is sponsored by CASA Moon, Solar System Exploration Research Virtual Institute (SSERVI), the Institute of Meteoritics (IOM), Sustainable Space Research Grand Challenge (UNM), Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences (UNM), and the Lunar and Planetary Institute.

Spring 2024 Schedule

  • January 31, 2024
    Chip Shearer, University of New Mexico
    ANGSA Initiative: The first steps toward Artemis Sample Return
  • February 7, 2024
    Lars Borg, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
    Age of the Moon
  • February 14, 2024
    Yang Liu, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
    Discovery of lunar halite nanocrystals on the Surface of volcanic beads from Apollo 17
  • February 21, 2024
    Justin Simon, Johnson Space Center
    Generation of felsic rocks on the Moon and their role for lunar volatiles
  • February 28, 2024
    Anthony Gargano, Lunar and Planetary Institute
    Title TBD
  • March 6, 2024
    Maryam Hojati, University of New Mexico
    Building Beyond Earth: Pioneering the Future with Additive Manufacturing in Space Habitats
  • March 20, 2024
    Marina Martinez, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
    Unraveling the micro-structure in apatite
  • March 27, 2024
    Noah Petro, Goddard Space Flight Center
    Artemis III Science and Exploration of the Moon
  • April 3, 2024
    Alexander Nemchin, Curtin University
    U-Pb systematics of lunar samples
  • April 10, 2024
    James Dottin, Brown University
    Origin of sulfur isotopes reservoirs on the Moon
  • April 17, 2024
    Carl Agee, University of New Mexico
    Research treasures in the UNM meteorite museum
  • April 24, 2024
    Katarina Miljkovic, Curtin University
    Connecting samples with source craters via impact modelling

Get the solar system in your inbox.

Sign up for LPI's email newsletters