Lunar and Planetary Institute
Lunar and Planetary Institute



LPI Announces Career Development Award Winners

February 15, 2013

The Lunar and Planetary Institute (LPI) is proud to announce the winners of the sixth LPI Career Development Award. The award is given to graduate students who submitted a first-author abstract to the 44th Lunar and Planetary Science Conference (LPSC). The awards are based on a review of the application materials by a panel of planetary scientists, and recipients will receive an $1000.00 travel stipend to help cover their expenses for attending the conference.

The 44th LPSC will be held at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center in The Woodlands, Texas. Approximately 2000 participants from all over the world are expected to gather for the annual meeting, which has gained the reputation of being the premiere gathering place for lunar and planetary scientists. The meeting provides an invaluable opportunity for students, not only to present their own research, but also to hear and see firsthand the latest-breaking results from other researchers in their field. Opportunities are also provided for students to meet and network with an international group of distinguished researchers.

Congratulations to the 2013 recipients:

Kathleen Craft
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, United States
Cassandra Marion
The University of Western Ontario, Canada
Catherine Elder
The University of Arizona, United States
Lujendra Ojha
Georgia Institute of Technology, United States
Rebecca A. Fischer
The University of Chicago, United States
Annemarie Pickersgill
The University of Western Ontario, Canada
Tanya Harrison
The University of Western Ontario, Canada
Neeraj Srivastava
Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, India
Thomas S. Kruijer
Institute of Geochemistry and Petrology, Switzerland
Lauren White
University of California, United States

Agata Krzesińska
Institute of Geological Science, Poland
Mary Beth Wilhelm
Georgia Institute of Technology, United States
Michael P. Lucas
University of Tennessee, United States
Sharon A. Wilson Purdy
Smithsonian Institution, National Air and Space Museum, United States
Kennda Lynch
Colorado School of Mines, United States

Community News home page


Last updated February 28, 2013