September 2017 OPAG Meeting

September 6-7

September 6
8:30 a.m. Welcome – Jeff Bowman
8:45 a.m. Agenda Overview – Alfred McEwen
9:00 a.m.

PSD and Outer Planets updates – Curt Niebur
PSD Response to OPAG findings
Planetary Science Division Status Report - Jim Green

10:00 a.m. Strategy for OP/OW techology investments – Carolyn Mercer
10:30 a.m. Break
10:45 a.m. Europa Clipper updates – Bob Pappalardo
11:15 a.m. Europa Lander updates – Curt Niebur, Kevin Hand, Sam Thurman
1:30 p.m. Cassini update – Scott Edgington
2:00 p.m. New Horizons and future exploration of planet-size KBOs – Alan Stern
2:30 p.m. Roadmaps to Ocean Worlds – Amanda Hendrix and Terry Hurford
3:15 p.m. Break
3:30 p.m. Preliminary OPAG Findings
3:45 p.m. Poster 2-minute oral summaries 
4:15 p.m. Poster session
September 7
8:30 a.m. Ocean life on Earth and what it means for the outer planets – Jeff Bowman 
9:00 a.m. JWST proposal deadline and GTO program – Stefanie Milam
9:15 a.m. 2-minute presentations of science nuggets

Hubble Maps of Juno Sub-Spacecraft Tracks – Mike Wong
Diurnal and seasonal variability of Uranus’s magnetosphere – Xin Cao

9:30 a.m. Update on Plutonium and the RPS program – June Zakrajsek 
10:00 a.m. Summary from Low-Cost Planetary Missions workshop – Alfred McEwen  
10:15 a.m. Summary of IPPW-14 – Kunio Sayanagi
10:30 a.m. Break
10:45 a.m. CAPS updates on Decadal Survey process – Bill McKinnon
11:15 a.m. PSD R&A study -- Steve Mackwell
11:30 a.m. Other National Academies studies – David Smith
12:15 p.m. Lunch
Future mission concepts to outer planets :
1:30 p.m. Ice Giant SDT updates – Mark Hofstadter
2:00 p.m. ESA M5 proposal: HERA: An atmospheric probe to unveil the depths of Saturn --Olivier Mousis
Planetary Science Deep Space SmallSat study grants:
2:30 p.m. Small Next-generation Atmospheric Probe (SNAP) – Kunio Sayanagi
2:45 p.m. JUpiter MagnetosPheric boundary ExploreR (JUMPER) – Robert Ebert
3:00 p.m. Juno update – Steven Levin
3:30 p.m. Discussion and Q&A
3:45 p.m. Break
4:00 p.m. Discussion of draft findings – Alfred McEwen, everyone
5:00 p.m. Adjourn