2017 NASA Exploration Science Forum

NASA’s Solar System Exploration Research Virtual Institute (SSERVI) will hold the annual Exploration Science Forum (ESF) July 18-20, 2017 at NASA Ames Research Center (ARC), Moffett Field, Calif: https://nesf2017.arc.nasa.gov/

The ESF features scientific discussions of the Moon, near-Earth asteroids, and the moons of Mars, with recent mission results.

On July 18, a special tribute to astronaut Gene Cernan will focus on the importance of the Apollo Missions then and now, with participation by astronaut Harrison Schmitt. On July 19, a panel will discuss detection and formation of water on the Moon. On July 20, an invited
keynote address will be given by Dr. Alan Stern, principal investigator of the New Horizons mission.

At the ESF, SSERVI will present its annual awards to: Dr. Maria Zuber (the Shoemaker Distinguished Scientist Medal), Dr. Lawrence Taylor (the Michael J. Wargo Exploration Science Award), Dr. Adrienne Dove and Dr. Samuel Lawrence (the Susan Mahan Niebur Early-Career Award) and Dr. Angioletta Coradini (posthumously), recipient of the newly established Mid-Career Award named in her honor.

A SSERVI co-sponsored workshop entitled “Autonomy on Future SMD Missions” will follow on July 21. Register for the autonomy workshop on the ESF registration site.