2019 AGU Fall Meeting Session: Planetary Atmospheres and Evolution

Dear Colleagues,

The AGU Fall Meeting is returning to San Francisco this year (December 9-13, 2019), with its centennial edition. Planetary sciences are part of the celebrations. We would be delighted if you consider your participation and encourage submissions of cross-disciplinary presentations in our session P028: Planetary Atmospheres and Evolution. The deadline for abstract submission is Wednesday, July 31, 2019. The goals and objectives of the session are presented below.

Please pass this invitation to your colleagues who might be interested, and of course we are happy to answer any questions that you might have. We hope to see you in San Francisco!

Best regards,

Feng, Cedric, and Vladimir

P028 – Planetary Atmospheres and Evolution


Description: Understanding the nature and variability of (exo)planetary atmospheres, the physical mechanisms governing these atmospheres, and their chemical evolution are strong driving forces of planetary science and solar system exploration mission planning. While the long-term evolution of the Earth is constrained by geological studies and isotopic analyses, the evolutionary paths of other planets must be reconstructed from data obtained through astronomical observations and planetary missions. Models of planetary atmospheres use these observations to illuminate governing physical processes operating from the Earth to other planets in our solar system and beyond. The rapidly increasing number of discovered exoplanets provides a new opportunity for interdisciplinary collaborations between heliophysicists, astrophysicists, geoscientists, biochemists, planetary and climate scientists concerning the physical and chemical evolution of (exo)planetary atmospheres and planetary habitability. This session welcomes observational, theoretical, experimental, and field studies relevant to the atmospheres, evolution, and habitability of planets in and outside of our solar system.

Convenors: Feng Tian (Macau University of Science and Technology), Cedric Gillmann (Free University of Belgium) and Vladimir Airapetian (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/SEEC & American University).