Newly Elected Members of the National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences announced the election of 120 members and 23 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Those elected bring the total number of active members to 2,565 and the total number of international members to 526. International members are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

Newly elected members of the National Academy of Sciences include:

Brodsky, Emily E.; professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of California, Santa Cruz

Johnson, Catherine L.; professor, Department of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences, University of British Columbia, Vancouver; senior scientist, Planetary Science Institute, Tucson

McKinnon, William B.; professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Washington University, St. Louis

Wadhwa, Meenakshi; director and professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, Arizona State University, Tempe

For more information, visit