Habitability: The Astrophysical, Atmospheric, and Geophysical Implications

It is our pleasure to announce the 2024 Planetary Habitability program at the Munich Institute for Astro-, Particle, and Bio-Physics (MIAPbP) from May 21-June 14, 2024, in Garching, Germany. This workshop brings together scientists from all areas of habitability including stellar astrophysics, planetary science, planetary dynamics, atmospheric science, geology, and geophysics to discuss fundamental questions regarding the formation, characterization, and detection of habitable planets.

The main goal of the program is to facilitate interactions among participants and create an environment that would enable new collaborations and initiatives. The structure of the program is informal. Every participant will be given office space and resources necessary to carry out research. While the focus is on interactions and collaborations, there will be daily gatherings for discussing specific topics, presenting new results, and brainstorming. There will also be ample time for independent research. For more details, please see the program website at https://www.munich-iapbp.de/habitability.

Financial support is available at the rate of EUR 80 per day for accommodation and local expenses. Additional financial support for attendees with family and children and for graduate students is also available. Please see the details at https://www.munich-iapbp.de/for-visitors/financial-support.

To attend, please apply using the program website. The program is open to scientists of all geographic areas and of all career levels including junior and early-career researchers, as well as advanced graduate students. We strongly encourage applications by female scientists and scientists from minorities and underrepresented groups.

The application deadline is September 24, 2023. When applying, please note that MIAPbP requires attendance for at least two weeks (10 working days).

Please share this announcement with your colleagues, students, and postdocs, and encourage them to apply.

We look forward to receiving your applications.

Nikolaos Georgakarakos, Nader Haghighipour, Dimitri Veras, Rolf-Peter Kudritzki