National Academy of Sciences Elects New Members

The National Academy of Sciences announced the election of 120 members — 59 of whom are women, the most elected in a single year — and 30 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Those elected bring the total number of active members to 2,461 and the total number of international members to 511. International members are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

Among the newly elected members are the following scientists in the planetary science community:

  • Robert S. Anderson, Distinguished Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
  • Frances Bagenal, Senior Research Scientist, Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics and Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
  • Linda T. Elkins-Tanton, Managing Director, Interplanetary Initiative, School of Earth and Space Exploration, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
  • Debra Fischer, Professor, Department of Astronomy, Yale University, New Haven, CT
  • Stephen A. Fuselier, Executive Director, Space Science Directorate, Space Science and Engineering Division, Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, TX
  • Harry Y. McSween, Jr., Chancellor’s Professor Emeritus, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

New international members:

  • Ulrich Christensen, Director, Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (Germany)

For more information, visit