National Academy of Sciences Inductees in Planetary Science

The National Academy of Sciences announced the election of 120 members and 26 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Those elected bring the total number of active members to 2,403 and the total number of international members to 501. International members are non-voting members of the Academy with citizenship outside the United States.

Among the newly elected members are the following scientists in the planetary science community:

Joel D. Blum, Ph.D., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Blum is a John D. MacArthur Professor, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, and Gerald J. Keeler Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.



Marc M. Hirschmann, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Hirschmann is a Distinguished McKnight University Professor in the College of Science and Engineering’s Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences.



Francis Nimmo, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz
Nimmo is a professor in the Earth and Planetary Sciences Department.



Roger Summons, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Summons, Schlumberger Professor of Geobiology in the MIT Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences (EAPS), was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).



Veronica Vaida, Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder
Vaida is a professor in the Department of Chemistry and a fellow in the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES).



For more information, visit: