Nominate a Scientist or Educator for an AGU Education Award

AGU logo



The nomination cycle for 2021 AGU Union awards, medals, and prizes opened January 15, 2021, and closes April 15, 2021.

AGU’s Spilhaus Award
The Athelstan Spilhaus Award is given annually to one honoree in recognition of his/her “enhancement of public engagement with Earth and space sciences,” by devoting portions of their career to conveying to the general public the excitement, significance, and beauty of the Earth and space sciences. For more information, visit

Excellence in Earth and Space Science Education Award
The Excellence in Geophysical Education Award (EGEA) is presented annually “to acknowledge a sustained commitment to excellence in geophysical education by a team, individual, or group.” Examples are educators who have had a major impact on geophysical education at any level (kindergarten through post-graduate), who have been outstanding teachers and trainers for several years or have made a long-lasting, positive impact on geophysical education through professional service. For more information, visit

Spotlight on Education highlights events and programs that provide opportunities for planetary scientists to become involved in education and public engagement. If you know of space science educational programs or events that should be included, please contact the Lunar and Planetary Institute's Education Department at [email protected].