About Us

The Venus Exploration Analysis Group is NASA's community-based forum designed to provide scientific input and technology development plans for planning and prioritizing the exploration of Venus over the next several decades, including a Venus surface sample return. VEXAG is chartered by NASA's Solar System Exploration Division and reports its findings to NASA. Open to all interested scientists, VEXAG regularly evaluates Venus exploration goals, scientific objectives, investigations and critical measurement requirements, including especially recommendations in the NRC Decadal Survey and the Solar System Exploration Strategic Roadmap.

In addition to interested members of the scientific community, each focus group will include technology experts, NASA representatives, international partner representatives, EPO experts, and the chair. The current focus groups are listed below. Other focus groups may be added, as needed.

Steering Committe Member Position/Roles Tenure
Darby Dyar
Mount Holyoke College
Chair November 2018–November 2021
Noam Izenberg
Applied Physics Laboratory
Deputy Chair November 2018 – November 2021
Gary Hunter
Glenn Research Center
Lead, Technology Development and Laboratory Measurements Focus Group February 2017–February 2020
Allan Treiman Lead, Venus Goals and Exploration Sites Focus Group June 2018–February 2020

Candice Gray
New Mexico State University

Joseph O'Rourke
Arizona State University

Co-Leads Lead, Early-Career Scholars Outreach Focus Group

September 2018–September 2021
James Cutts
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Venus Exploration Roadmap Focus Group November 2016–November 2019
Kevin McGouldrick
LASP, University of Colorado
At-Large Member February 2017–February 2020
Lynn Carter
University of Arizona
At-Large Member February 2017–February 2020
Bob Grimm
Southwest Research Institute
Past Chair July 2016–December 2018
Colin Wilson
Oxford University
At-Large Member July 2018–July 2021
Patrick McGovern
Lunar and Planetary Institute
At-Large Member July 2018–July 2021
Emilie Royer
Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics (LASP)
At-Large Member July 2018–July 2021
Giada Arney
NASA Goddard
At-Large Member September 2018–September 2021


Past VEXAG Co-Chairs (in chronological order)

Janet Luhmann
University of California, Berkeley, California

Sushil Atreya
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Ellen Stofan
Proxemy, Inc.

Suzanne Smrekar
JPL, Pasadena, California

Sanjay Limaye
University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin

Lori Glaze 
Goddard Space Flight Center

Bob Grimm
Southwest Research Institute

Janet Luhmann, and Sushil Atreya, served as VEXAG Co-Chairs since VEXAG was formed in 2005 until November 2009. Ellen Stofan served as VEXAG Chair from November 2007 until spring 2009.

NASA and LPI contacts:

Dr. Adriana Ocampo, NASA Executive Officer for VEXAG
Dr. Allan Treiman, LPI